Skip to main content



Shelbyville Dragon Band


And the Bronze Medal goes to, The Shelbyville High School Band

This past Wednesday, October 25th the Shelbyville Dragon Band participated in the UIL State Military Marching Contest.  After an early morning prelim round Shelbyville, along with four other 2A bands were selected as the top five finalists.  Shelbyville, Carlisle, Union Grove, Harleton and Timpson High School bands all gained the opportunity to perform in a final round that evening at McLane Stadium on the Baylor University campus.

After the final note was played, the last turn was snapped and the moment that all five bands have been working towards was finally complete, the results rang out over the PA.  The Shelbyville Dragon Band is the Texas UIL State Military Marching Band Bronze Medalist.

This third-place finish marks an improvement on the bands 2022 fifth place finals finish.  Made up of 8th-12th grade students, this year’s band is comprised of a majority of underclassmen which points to a bright future for the Dragon Band!

The Dragon band would like to thank the families, faculty, administrators and community members of Shelbyville ISD for their continued support and encouragement.  It’s a great day to be a Shelbyville Dragon!



Head Band Director

  John Kennon


         Assistant Band Director     

                   Marcia Castaneda                   


Drill Team Sponsor

Emily Sowell


Twirling Sponsor

Marcia Castaneda


Booster Club Officers

Angie Norton President
Denise Shofner Vise President
Christy Jackson Treasurer
Rachel Crawford Secretary


BAND OFFICE:  936-598-7323 ext. 244